Information Design Post 5

The History Of Vaccines from Killer Infographics on Vimeo.

So far in my blog posts I’ve looked at a lot of flat, two dimensional information design. This week, since we are moving on to animation in our projects at school, I thought that I would mirror that in my blog post. Here’s an example by Killer Infographics on the History of Vaccines that I thought did an amazing job. I thought it was very successful in engaging the viewer and also portraying the facts in a really clear and easy to understand way. Something we had talked about in class is the option of using a script vs. making an animation that only uses music and sound fx. I thought this video did a good job mainly relying on a script but still incorporating sound fx when necessary. It made it so that the viewer was still able to hear all the information but also watch the animation and stay engaged. Being able to hear and watch at the same time really reinforced the message and it was a lot more interesting to watch than if the artist had big chunks of type to read. Something else that I really appreciated about this animation is the fact that they used a lot of imagery to express their ideas. The audience never got bored staring at a bunch of charts and numbers but instead the video did a great job accurately showing the data creatively.

2015-02-24 21.41.32

My second infographic is completely unrelated to my first, but I thought it might be interesting to evaluate since its not in english. One of my good friends went to Korea a few months ago and brought home a few face masks for me as a souvenir. My photo shows the entire back side of the packaging and as you can see, probably about 75% of it is all text, and only a small portion is imagery. However, even though I can’t read a word of Korean I found that this didn’t really matter since I was still able to understand the message this graphic was trying to depict. Even though this graphic isn’t all that great aesthetically, it was still effective, and when it comes down to it, accurate and easy to follow instructions are much more valuable than beautiful, overly decorative designs that are hard to understand. For most projects we pretty much take for granted that our target audience is similar to us, but keeping in mind that there may be other demographics looking at your work is important too. Being able to transcend language barriers is a huge accomplishment in design.

Leave a Reply

